Kick the habit with fun, free, friendly support to be a new smoke free you xx

Author Topic: Introducing myself, the serial quitter  (Read 1009 times)

cshaban

Introducing myself, the serial quitter
« on: July 19, 2017, 07:29:14 am »
Hello everyone!

I'm kind of excited to join your community because I remember one of my previous attempts being on a forum and getting all the support and understanding really helped me stay away from smoking for a while...
I've been smoking for some 10 years, with a break of 2 years at some point and some various smaller breaks in between.
I come back to it though. Over the last year, pretty much every pack I bought was gonna be the last one and every cig the last. But I guess some of you know how it goes...a moment of tension and the next one gets lit up...
It's hard to quit because smoking has become my ME time. I've always been this way, not so much the social smoker, but taking the cig break to think, take a break, conclude some important moment. I think that's why it's so hard to quit, cause these ME times are so important.
So I know I have to find ways to replace that, find other ways of ME time. I kind of know the options - exercise, drink a tea instead (not much of a tea drinker though), take a walk (can't really afford that because of work and childcare duties)...
Maybe you can tell me what works for you, especially those who identify with my kind of smoking.
Trying the cold turkey thing, it worked for me before until it didn't...
I'm pretty convinced about the N.O.P.E thing, every new one is just an excuse to light up the next (as long as I did one, I'll do another).